AboutEPPI-Centre Staff
Staff

Founding Director

 

 

Centre Director

Ann Oakley

Founding Director of the Social Science Research Unit and EPPI-Centre, Professor of Sociology and Social Policy
a.oakley@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Gender, health, methodology and evidence-informed public policy; theories of knowledge construction.

 

David Gough

Director of the EPPI-Centre, Professor of Evidence-informed Policy and Practice
david.gough@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Development of methods of systematic review and the study of research use.


Deputy Directors

 

Sandy Oliver

Director of the Social Science Research Unit and Deputy Director of the EPPI-Centre, Professor of Public Policy
sandy.oliver@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Making knowledge more democratic, through public involvement in doing and using research, and synthesising and sharing research literature.

   

James Thomas

Deputy Director of the EPPI-Centre, Professor of Social Research and Policy, Director of the EPPI-Centre's Reviews Facility for the Department of Health, England
james.thomas@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Developing methods for research synthesis, in particular for qualitative and mixed methods reviews and in using emerging information technologies such as text mining in research.


Associate Directors

 

Mark Newman

Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre, Reader in Evidence-informed Policy and Practice in Education and Social Policy
mark.newman@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Developing methods and processes for systematic reviews for policy and practice decision making across social policy.

   

Alison O'Mara-Eves

Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre, Senior Research Officer
a.o'mara-eves@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Meta-analysis & systematic review methods; technologies to assist systematic reviewing; social psychology; education; and public health.

 

Rebecca Rees

Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre, Senior Lecturer in Evidence Informed Policy and Practice
rebecca.rees@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Synthesis of studies of people's perspectives on social phenomena and in participatory approaches to research in public health.

 

Ian Shemilt      

Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre, Senior Lecturer in Economics and Evidence Synthesis Methodologyi.shemilt@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Improving policy and practice decisions through the development and application of approaches to evidence synthesis that combine economics and systematic review methods.

Katy Sutcliffe

Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre, Associate Professor
katy.sutcliffe@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Children's participation in their health-care; approaches for integrating different types of research evidence in systematic reviews and approaches for supporting the implementation of review findings.

     

Staff

 

Mukdarut Bangpan

Senior Lecturer
m.bangpan@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Social interventions; gender, health and well-being of children and women in developing countries; systematic reviews in international development.

 

Kelly Dickson

Research Officer
k.dickson@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Systematic reviews in education and social care and working with review groups to undertake systematic reviews.

 

         

Preethy D'Souza

Research Associate
preethy.d'souza@ucl.ac.uk

 

Zak Ghouze

Software and Information Technology Officer
z.ghouze@ucl.ac.uk

         
         

Sergio Graziosi

Lead Developer and Information Systems Manager
s.graziosi@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Kate Hinds

Research Officer
kate.hinds@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: the relationship between funders and their grant holders, particularly partnerships that support learning from practice.

         

Meena Khatwa

Research Associate
m.khatwa@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: BAME and migrant communities, gender, families and identity; qualitative research methods, narrative and oral history; accessible and engaging research; systematic reviews, qualitative synthesis and thematic analysis.

 

Dylan Kneale

Principal Research Fellow
d.kneale@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Exploring methods and practice in evidence-based policy-making; policy analysis; longitudinal analysis; neighbourhood and contextual effects; transitions to adulthood; housing and health; and ageing and ageing policy.

         

Irene Kwan

Research Officer i.kwan@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Systematic review methodology and their application to the development of NICE social care guidelines.

 

Sarah Lester

Research Officer
sarah.lester@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Systematic reviews in health, social care and well-being; approaches to involving service users in research processes; research on research use.

         

Patrick O'Driscoll

Senior Programmer
p.o'driscoll@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 

Lionel Openshaw

Publications Officer
l.openshaw@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Research editorial, design and publishing; visual communications; digital and social media; politics and local government.

         

 

Michelle Richardson

Research Officer
m.richardson@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Applying mixed methods to synthesise evidence in public health and health promotion; developing tools to characterise the elements of interventions.

 

Carol Rivas

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Programme Evaluation
c.rivas@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Medical sociology, multidisciplinary research methods and innovation; patient and public engagement and participatory research.

         

Karen Schucan Bird

Research Officer
k.bird@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Social research methods including systematic review methodology, and visual research in social science; gender issues, women and higher education; visual methods and knowledge exchange.

 

Jonathan Sharples

Professorial Research Associate
j.sharples@ucl.ac.uk

 

         

Antonia Simon

Research Officer and Programme Lead, MSc Systematic Reviews for Social Policy and Practice
.simon@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Social research methods, including secondary analysis of large-scale data, administrative data and systematic review methodology; childcare; early years; children’s wellbeing; children’s diets; and trends in ethnicity and poverty. 

 

 

Claire Stansfield

Research Officer
c.stansfield@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Information management support; advice and guidance to other research projects in health promotion, international development and related fields.

         

Ruth Stewart

Research Officer
utnvrst@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Research with service users, practitioners and policy-makers in health and education, facilitating and researching user-involvement in evidence-informed decision-making; international development.

 

Gillian Stokes

Research Officer
gillian.stokes@ucl.ac.uk    

Interests: Medicine, public health and developing methods in evidence-based health policy; discourse analysis methods; Bakhtinian theory; intrapersonal role conflict theory; children's rights.

         

 

Janice Tripney

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy
janice.tripney@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: The influence of scientific evidence for policy and practice decision-making in education and other areas of social policy; the history and politics of evidence use, and the use and methodology of systematic reviews.

 

Carol Vigurs

Research Officer
c.vigurs@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Diabetes education; Children and young people; Young offenders; Youth at risk; Systematic reviews; rapid evidence assessment.

 

 

 

  
Copyright 2019 Social Science Research Unit, UCL Institute of Education :: Privacy Statement :: Terms Of Use :: Site Map :: Login
About::Projects::Publications::Research Use::Courses & seminars::Resources::Databases::Blog