AboutEPPI-Centre Staff
Staff

Directors

         
 

Ann Oakley


Founding Director of the Social Science Research Unit and EPPI-Centre. Professor of Sociology and Social Policy
a.oakley@ucl.ac.uk

 

Interests: Gender, health, methodology and evidence-informed public policy; theories of knowledge construction.

 

David Gough


Director of the EPPI-Centre. Professor of Evidence-informed Policy and Practice
david.gough@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Development of methods of systematic review and the study of research use.

           
 

Sandy Oliver


Director of the Social Science Research Unit and Deputy Director of the EPPI-Centre. Professor of Public Policy
sandy.oliver@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Making knowledge more democratic, through public involvement in doing and using research, and synthesising and sharing research literature.
 

   

Mark Newman


Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre. Reader in Evidence-informed Policy and Practice in Education and Social Policy
mark.newman@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Developing methods and processes for systematic reviews for policy and practice decision making across social policy; capacity building amongst practitioners, researchers and policymakers to produce, critically appraise and utilize research evidence; methods for the design and evaluation of effective learning environments in professional and clinical education.

           
 

Rebecca Rees


Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre. Senior Lecturer in Evidence Informed Policy and Practice
rebecca.rees@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Synthesis of studies of people's perspectives on social phenomena and in participatory approaches to research in public health.

   

James Thomas


Associate Director of the EPPI-Centre. Professor of Social Research and Policy. Director of the EPPI-Centre's Reviews Facility for the Department of Health, England
james.thomas@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Developing methods for research synthesis, in particular for qualitative and mixed methods reviews and in using emerging information technologies such as text mining in research. 

Research methods

         
 

Mukdarut Bangpan


Research Officer
m.bangpan@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Social interventions; gender, health and well-being of children and women in developing countries; systematic reviews in international development. 
 

Ginny Brunton


Senior Research Officer
g.brunton@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Maternal and child health; reproductive health; development of mixed methods in systematic reviews.

           
 

Jeff Brunton


Research Officer
j.brunton@ucl.ac.uk
 


Interests: Development of EPPI-Reviewer

 

 

Kelly Dickson


Research Officer
k.dickson@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Systematic reviews in education and social care and working with review groups to undertake systematic reviews.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kate Hinds


Research Officer
kate.hinds@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: the relationship between funders and their grant holders, particularly partnerships that support learning from practice.

 

 

 

Dylan Kneale


Research Officer
d.kneale@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Exploring methods and practice in evidence-based policy-making; policy analysis; longitudinal analysis; neighbourhood and contextual effects; transitions to adulthood; housing and health; and ageing and ageing policy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Irene Kwan


Research Officer i.kwan@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Systematic review methodology and their application to the development of NICE social care guidelines.

 

 

Alison O'Mara-Eves

 

Senior Research Officer
a.o'mara-eves@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Meta-analysis & systematic review methods; technologies to assist systematic reviewing; social psychology; education; and public health.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

           

Michelle Richardson


Research Officer
m.richardson@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Applying mixed methods to synthesise evidence in public health and health promotion; developing tools to characterise the elements of interventions.

 

 

 

 

Karen Schucan Bird

 

Research Officer
k.bird@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Social research methods including systematic review methodology, and visual research in social science; Gender issues, women and higher education; Visual methods and knowledge exchange. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ian Shemilt      


Senior Lecturer in Economics and Evidence Synthesis Methodology

i.shemilt@ucl.ac.uk

Interests:  Improving policy and practice decisions through the development and application of approaches to evidence synthesis that combine economics and systematic review methods.

 

           

Claire Stansfield


Research Officer
c.stansfield@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Information management support; advice and guidance to other research projects in health promotion, international development and related fields.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

           

Ruth Stewart


Research Officer
utnvrst@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Research with service users, practitioners and policy-makers in health and education, facilitating and researching user-involvement in evidence-informed decision-making; international development.

 

 

Gillian Stokes


Research Officer
gillian.stokes@ucl.ac.uk    

    

Interests: Medicine, public health and developing methods in evidence-based health policy; discourse analysis methods; Bakhtinian theory; intrapersonal role conflict theory; children's rights.

           
 

Katy Sutcliffe

 

Research Officer
katy.sutcliffe@ucl.ac.uk

Interests: Children's participation in their health-care; approaches for integrating different types of research evidence in systematic reviews and approaches for supporting the implementation of review findings.
 

Jan Tripney

 

Lecturer in Social Policy
janice.tripney@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: The influence of scientific evidence for policy and practice decision-making in education and other areas of social policy; the history and politics of evidence use, and the use and methodology of systematic reviews.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

Carol Vigurs

 

Research Officer
c.vigurs@ucl.ac.uk


Interests: Diabetes education; Children and young people; Young offenders; Youth at risk; Systematic reviews; rapid evidence assessment.

    

 

 

           

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information technology

 

 

 

 

Publications, marketing and communications 

 

 

 

 

Sergio Graziosi


Information Systems Manager
s.graziosi@ucl.ac.uk

 

Philip Rose


Publications and Administrative Officer
philip.rose@ucl.ac.uk

 

  
Copyright 2016 Social Science Research Unit, UCL Institute of Education :: Privacy Statement :: Terms Of Use :: Site Map :: Login
About::Projects::Publications::Research Use::Courses & seminars::Resources::Databases::Blog